Planting Tomatoes

Saturday was another garden day.

I cut down more cover crop (we really need a scythe next year!), weeded, and then was finally able to get some of our tomato starts in the ground. We have roughly 70 plants that have been hanging out on our deck just waiting for a place in the ground.

I also tackled trimming brambles and weeds on the far back side of the garden fence. There were blackberries coming through the wire and I knew it was now or next year that I would be able to address them. This pregnant body does not work too fast anymore, and I hit a wall before I got as far as I wanted, but listened to baby and called it a day with about 1/3 of the tomatoes in the ground.  Things are looking good!

Beans and corn are up, garlic is starting to turn yellow, peach tree has fruit and has been thinned. Very few apples are out this year. Some of the tomatoes are in. I could call that more of a garden success than I was anticipating the summer our first baby arrives! 4 weeks to go!

Update from Sunday: Matt spent the day in the garden and prepped and planted over 40 more plants! We are set for the year with about 75 in the ground and it looks great!

Picking a Whole House Color Palate

We love color. We also love most of our furniture. In the past, these two things have always come together in a mish-mash of design and decor for our house. Although we like the eclectic feel, for our post-remodel house we are shooting for a cohesive grownup comfortable look that truly looks intentional.

We will be ditching our old couch (well, to be fair, my parent’s old couch…it was around before I was born!) and only keeping pieces that we truly love. The new darker hardwood floors, new fresh trim, and remodeled kitchen deserve a color palate that brings out every bit of beauty possible.

Enter: a whole house color palate!

I started out thinking this would be easy. I have always been good with color, and have picked paint for many spaces. But I realized I had never truly started with a blank canvas, and included so many considerations as I selected paint.

Considerations:

  • wood floors
  • white trim and cabinetry
  • red brick fireplace
  • creamy white/terracotta/black kitchen tile
  • slate black counters
  • mix of white and stainless appliances
  • lots of green foliage through windows
  • very grey weather all winter long
  • antique oak and walnut furniture
  • light and airy feeling of house, but we also like bold color
  • desire to have room color flow from one to the next while being distinct
  • Matt has to like it!

I started where most people start these days: Pinterest. I got some good ideas, but no clear vision that was right for our home. From there I went to our local Benjamin Moore store and started sifting through colors. We have used Behr in the past with descent results, but tried the Aura paint on one room last year and were SOLD! Also, the BM Advance is what people tend to say is best for cabinets so we are going 100% Benjamin Moore on this remodel.

It is pretty overwhelming to look a 10,000 colors all at once. So I borrowed a fan deck and brought it home to look at more closely. I also got a white deck and their Williamsburg collection booklet. The fan deck is over 3″ thick and was also quickly overwhelming, so I stuck with the Historical Colors section and the Williamsburg ¬†collection. We like classic style the best, and our craftsman house really is asking for those tones anyway. Through process of elimination, we were making progress.

IMG_0115[1]

Pulling out tile samples and overlaying them on the colors further helped narrow our choices. Right now we have 4-5 wall colors that we really really like (beachy toned theme), and have narrowed down the whites (trim and cabinets) to a small handful. We keep revisiting them as the light changes throughout the day.

This weekend we plan to paint the interior of the two new kitchen cabinets Matt built (existing cabinets will not get painted interiors, but the new ones need a protective layer) so we will be picking a color and giving it a try!