Not So Stellar Weekend

Well, it was not terrible…but not great either.

Friday afternoon I went to the pool, only to find out there was a swim meet, so no workout for me. I caught a ferry home, took one look at Matt who had been texting me about itching all day, and turned back into the ferry line to take him to urgent care. Lack of medical care on Vashon is probably one of the more serious downsides to island life. We lucked out and only waited 20 minutes before he could be seen…verdict: allergic reaction to something, and the poor guy was covered head to toe in hives. Medicine has helped but he is still fighting the itching. Dinner was take and bake pizza after 9PM, which felt super late for me. I have been going to bed before 8 most nights these days!

Itchy guy meant the fireplace brick was on pause. It sat all weekend untouched. We really just milled around, cleaned, took care of house stuff, and went to bed early. A dear friend visited the island on Saturday afternoon so we did a beach walk for sea glass and catching up. Hot chocolate on the beach: awesome idea.

All in all it was a restful weekend, but not what we had intended. The fireplace brick will need to be revisited this week, and we have grout ready to go. We also have a table saw checked out from the tool library just waiting for book cases to be cut. I am all geared up to do our taxes, but the forms have not arrived yet. I did have a win in submitting my business taxes for the first time! And we made some killer eggplant parmesan. So at least that was progress.

That is how it goes though, some things are just out of your control.

2 thoughts on “Not So Stellar Weekend

  1. Matt, I know how you feel. I started on my long list of drug allergies when I was about your age. The 1st really strong reaction was when I was sick in bed with the flu. Hives from head to toe just added to the misery! Hang in there and try to figure out what caused it. The brick looks great so far. Much love, Grammy

    • yes it was rough but we are pretty sure we determined the cause: overdosage on selsun blue shampoo! crazy how chemicals can impact our bodies. I am happy to report he is on the mend!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

