Fundamental Orchardist

When Matt and I got married, I learned that my new last name meant “orchardist” in French. How cool is that?

Even cooler, I have been bit by the orchard bug and am embracing this title as part of my identity. Earlier this spring we placed our first fruit tree order. A few apples, a pear, mulberry and peach. Somewhat unique varieties but our choices were made though quite virgin eyes.

IMG_2655[1]

Planting these trees brought me more joy that I could have fathomed they would. I grew up with my dad’s collection of fruit trees, but was never that interested. Now I am hooked. Last week three more trees joined out orchard and I am counting down the days until we (someday) buy the land next door and have more space to plant. I have a list of old, rare heirloom apple trees that I want to plant and eat.

So far on our homestead we have:

Apple:

  • Spartan
  • Northern Spy
  • Honeycrisp
  • Enterprise

 

Pear:

  • Ubileen
  • Red Sensation Bartlett

 

Peach:

  • Reliance

 

 

3 thoughts on “Fundamental Orchardist

    • Dance around it in circles! Just kidding, it actually gives huge beautiful long berries that look similar to blackberries but seedless. Supposed to be wonderful fresh or for cooking!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  1. Pingback: Fundamental Orchardist | Moose & Turtle on Vashon – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

