Shades of Grey

With the new door drywall nearly complete we are back in painting mode. Since the living room (where the door is) already has new paint, this one is just a touchup project really. However, since part of the ceiling also needs to be touched up I am using the excuse of “the roller is already full of paint” to tackle the hallway ceiling too. And so then why not the walls? A paint color for the hallways and stairwell have always been a point of marriage contention for Matt and I. I blame Pinterest. All the walls in the immaculacy prefect looking houses? Grey. Warm grey, cool grey…but all grey and crisp and so fashionable. I think everyone and their mother has pinned something like these:

(Agreeable Gray by Sherwin Williams, Meditation by Benjamin Moore, Revere Pewter by Benjamin Moore, Sandy Hook Gray by BM, Shale by BM, Coastal Fog by BM, Anew Gray by Sherwin Williams, Mourning Dove by Martha Stewart, Wood Smoke by Glidden, Gull by Martha Stewart)

Described as the best paint color ever. Benjamin Moore revere pewter

How-to Pick the Perfect Gray Paint  I am re pinning this because every color goes with grey, you just have to find the right grey, also grey goes amazing with white trim and any other accent color you want

Thunder (AF-685) by Benjamin Moore    I chose this for a client at a recent colour consultation expecting it to be a grey beige. Once the painter was finished I realized that this is probably the perfect, elusive gray that we are all looking for. There are no obvious undertones that take over as there normally are with gray. It’s deceiving on the chip though because it looks more grey beige than gray

With tones as varied as driftwood gray and creamy latte, neutrals are anything but boring. Browse BHG.com's top neutral paint color picks to find the right hue for your rooms. Plus, learn the best tricks for decorating in neutrals.

Matt hates the idea of grey. And to some extent I agree, but I am working the grey card for these small transitional spaces.

In the past I have always used Behr paint and been very happy with it. But now that Matt gets an employee discount on Benjamin Moore we are giving that a go. I stalked colors and found two greys that I liked from a classic collection. I showed them to Matt, pulled out the other room color samples and we both agreed on one: York Grey. It is a warm tone that will go well with the other more “colorful” colors we picked for the rooms.

So here is to painting…and marital color disagreement! I am so ready to have these projects done!

One thought on “Shades of Grey

  1. I have heard so many great things about Benjamin Moore paint — take full advantage of that discount! I have been hearing that gray is the new neutral. I love it! Hope you guys are able to agree on a shade 😀

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

