Healthy Desserts

If you have read any of my other blog posts you will know that Matt and I love to cook…and eat. We whip up fun things for dinner almost every night, and yes, we love dessert too. Usually we are pretty good, limiting desserts to special treats, but it is hard when you come across good, addiciting things. My weakness is ice cream. Oh boy do I love ice cream. A few weeks ago Matt and I polished off a whole half gallon of Tillamook Chocolate Peanut Butter ice cream over the course of a weekend. (not what you need on a get-fit-for-the-wedding plan!). Overall we do eat very healthy, whole food. I have even lost almost 25 lbs since we started dating!

So back to desserts. We try to make sweet treats that are not chock full of fake things, sugar, fat etc. One of our favorites is garbanzo bean chocolate cake. My friend Jenny and I discovered this amazing treat back in college and make it on a regular basis now. High protein, gluten and dairy free…it is good to have around when people with food allergies come to dinner too. The recipe can be found here. (one tip: “flour” the pan with cocoa poweder instead of flour for pretty color and an extra chocolate kick!)

Recently I have been on a smoothie-for-breakfast kick. Any mix of fruit, yogurt and spinach I can think of. I am addicted. The other morning though I decided to try a more sweet treat smoothie: banana chocolate peanut butter. This was an amazing smoothie and was probably more of a dessert than a breakfast. It reminded me of the “milkshakes” we would make in St. Croix with our massive excesses of bananas. The peanut butter in it sparked my interest though. This partially frozen, creamy smoothie flavor reminded me of our favorite ice cream (aka: Tillamook Chocolate Peanut Butter!) so I decided to see how close I could make it match.

Last night, I whipped up a batch of smoothie, then poured it in a freezer dish and swirled in some natural creamy salted peanut butter and froze it for dessert. The result? A very convincing replica! Next time I will try freezing it in the ice cream maker rather than just poured into a pan since it got a little icy, but overall, it was a great first attempt.

Of course, Matt doused his in more chocolate syrup so up went the sugar, but I guess you can’t win em all.

Banana Chocolate Peanut Butter “Ice Cream”

Ingredients:

  • Ripe banana (1 per person), peeled and frozen in chunks
  • Milk (we use 1%)
  • Unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Chocolate syrup (Trader Joes has one that is HFC syrup free!)
  • Natural salted peanut butter

In blender, mix together frozen bananas with milk to get a creamy soft serve consistency. This takes some patience depending on how old/good/grumpy your blender is! Add in cocoa powder, chocolate syrup and peanut butter to taste.

If you stop here, it is a great smoothie. For a firmer texture, mix in ice cream maker or just pour into a container and freeze. For an extra peanut butter kick, drizzle slightly warm peanut butter into the mixture and swirl in before freezing.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Desserts

    • Thanks, I am trying to get better ay my food photography. Natural light helps a lot! I will wander by and check out the custard…sounds yummy!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

