When the Sun Comes Out…Things Happen

Seattle has been a bit, how to I put this?…grey, this spring and summer. And wet, I might add.

Yesterday we got a visit from the long lost sun, and we enjoyed it!

In preparation for Matt’s friend Chris’ 30th birthday dinner (we were cooking for him) I went to the store to pick out some salmon, fresh strawberries, and an extra can of garbanzo beans. On the way home I had the strangest encounter ever. An older gentleman from Florida offered to be my sugar daddy.

Yep, you read that right. We were stopped at an intersection in my neighborhood and he asked me for directions. After telling him out to find his way to California Ave he asked me if I was seeing anyone. Yes, I am engaged. Then he offered to take me to Europe if my fiancé would not mind. I am pretty sure he would! So then the offer dropped back to Brooklyn, and then to just monthly shopping trips for him to buy me stuff. Wow. Yes, that seriously happened. I politely declined and went on my way. I immediately called my best friend Jenny and we had a good laugh on the phone. At least I know I have a backup plan, right Matt? 😉

Anyway, we had a great dinner with Chris. Fresh kale and chard cooked with bacon, organic sweet potatoes, and grilled honey mustard wild sockeye. We even got to eat on the deck! It was wonderful. For Chris’ birthday dessert I whipped up a garbanzo bean chocolate cake…seriously yummy protein packed treat. We ate it with fresh strawberries and local whipping cream. Yum.

Happy Birthday Chris! We were honored to celebrate with you!

____

The culinary adventures continue with a simple yet uber satisfying pasta smothered in fresh home canned tuna (a gift I got years ago! luckily it was still good!) and heirloom tomatoes.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

