Lipstick

My memories of lipstick mostly parallel costumes…high school musical productions, dress up with my best friends, Miss Whatcom County pageant my senior year of HS…nope, they never really conjure up a “normal” everyday memory. I typically don’t wear a lot of makeup…sometimes I don’t put on any at all if there are no important meetings at work or photos being taken. It is just not my priority. But recently something in me has been nagging at a small change. I feel like I am getting to the point where I should make more of an effort. My work wardrobe is feeling a little worn, a little “recently out of college”ish, and I am ready to take it up a notch. How does lipstick fit in? I want one that I like. I want a pop of color that I feel confident to put on when I need a little extra oomph. Any suggestions on where to start?

2 thoughts on “Lipstick

  1. If your’e not too used to wearing much makeup, your best bet is to start with something that’s in a family of natural colors. I go for cool pinks usually when I don’t want to look too made up. If you’re willing to spend a little money, it might be worth going to Sephora if there’s one near you. They’re great at helping you find colors that work well with your skin tone and fit into whatever “look” you’re going for.

    My favorite right now is Roses In Love from Lancome. It’s a nice moisturizing one, so it doesn’t dry out your lips like some lipsticks can. The stick looks really pink, but it’s nice on.

    If you’re not sold on lipstick, but want some color, try one of the lip stain pencils. They’re a little less intense color wise, so it’s an easier transition to make.

  2. Whenever I see someone wearing a standout, beautiful lip color, it’s usually MAC. I’ve had the best intentions to pick some up myself, but like you, I don’t typically wear a lot of make-up. Let us know what you end up with!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

