A Unique Community: Blog Friends

Blogging has become a regular part of my daily schedule. I write posts during lunch at work, sometimes in the evening (eventually posting them at random times) and my thoughts shoot out across the internet for people to find, receive in their inboxes, or visit by clicking on the link on my facebook page. These thoughts are usually for no one in particular, although the original intent of my blog was to update family and close friends on my life.

My blog has evolved from that. It is a place where I capture my daily routine and less-routine activities. Sadly it has replaced my journaling, but there are bonuses to having my thoughts online. They are faster to write by typing, there are pictures and links and all sorts of other fun things. I also like hearing feedback from my readers on what I am thinking. Blogging has also opened my eyes to a unique community: my blogging friends.

“My” network is still small, mostly comprised of friends and family, but some of these relationships have taken on a new life though communication online. A few of my friends I have gotten to know better through reading their blogs.

I have to admit, I have been a little jealous of one of my good blogging friends who found an amazing real-life friend through their blogs. I have always liked the idea of a pen pal, and I guess a random blog buddy is the new version of this. This week I discovered another girl who is planning her wedding and we are now reading each other’s blogs. She sounds like a really nice, fun person, and is fun to exchange ideas and comments with. We are now even sharing our wedding plans on Pinterest. I am excited to finally have a blog friend!

3 thoughts on “A Unique Community: Blog Friends

  1. Hi! You commented on my blog a week or so ago, and I wanted to tell you thank you for that. I love interacting with fellow bloggers. Especially other ones with an awesome name like Lauren. I am a former bride, turned newlywed, but I will save the advice (I don’t give wedding advice unless I am asked–hated all the unsolicited advice I got during mine), but I do wish you all the very best in your planning adventures. Stop back and visit us again soon! I will add you to my Google reader. 😉

  2. I am SO glad you started blogging. I feel like I have gotten to know you in a more meaningful way by reading your blog these past few months than I did during the four years we spent in college together. I love hearing about your daily life and getting an inside look at your relationship with Matt. Blogging can be a really beauiful thing!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

