What I See (on this beautiful day)

Today is beautiful! Likely to be the hottest day so far this summer (oh yea, high of 80…I love Seattle). Matt is away, but left me a sweet note wishing me a fun weekend on my own. I plan to fulfill that wish.

I fell into bed at 9:05 last night and slept straight through until 6:57 (my alarm was set for 8:30…guess that was unnecessary). I cleaning litter boxes, watered the garden in my PJs, then took a shower and weighed myself for the first time in a few weeks (a few pounds lighter!) so that was a great start to the day. From there I folded ALL the backlogged laundry and washed two loads, made pasta salad, and have been dreaming of lemon bars while dancing to Bob Marley. I think I will have to pick up some lemons and make that as my evening entertainment project.

They only way to describe the yard is beautifully wild. The lettuce is beautiful but sharing it’s space with weeds. The grass is pretty much all brown now, and accented with yellow flower weeds that our mower just cannot seem to cut down. So we stopped mowing. I am sure our neighbors are thrilled. My yellow tomatoes are pretty much ready (all 3 of them) and some of the others are starting to turn red and orange. The warm weather today will help a lot I bet!

I hope you are having a wonderful, beautiful summer day too! I am off to enjoy a picnic lunch with my future mother-in-law and then thrift store shop all afternoon.

Summer Pasta Salad – Italian Style

  • 1 lb penne pasta (I recommend De Cecco)
  • 4 oz hard salami (I get the Pino Grigio salami at Trader Joes)
  • 1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes in olive oil
  • 10-15 leaves fresh basil
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • Romano cheese

Boil water in large saucepan, adding salt to the water. Boil pasta until just done. Drain and cool pasta. If it is still really wet, use a salad spinner to remove excess water. Put cooled pasta in large bowl and drizzle with olive oil and pepper. Toss and set aside. 

Cube salami and cut tomatoes into small pieces. Finely chop fresh basil. Toss into pasta and chill until ready to eat.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

