Cooking Like an Italian

I am learning to cook like an Italian. I am learning to appreciate new ingredients, new ways to prepare food, and on Tuesday was introduce to the amazing combination of peaches and wine. A summer favorite of Matt’s family is sliced ripe peaches in glasses of wine (or a huge carafe). For dinner at Grandpo’s, Matt made some awesome cioppino and we had thick slices of peaches in our red wine with dinner. It was spectacular.

 Some other Matt’s-family-Italian cooking things I have learned:

  • Spaghetti is a type of pasta, not a “dish” like I had always called it. (Don’t worry mom, yours is still spaghetti and we love it!)
  • My vernacular has changed to address spaghetti sauce (see above) as “red sauce” or just “sauce” and it really does not matter what shape pasta it goes on. The sauce is the most important part of that meal.
  • Anchovies are good – especially in aglio e olio.
  • I know what ring sausage is.
  • Salt is important and you have to know how to use it.
  • You can never have too much garlic.

I really love the family dinners we share with Matt’s family.

Side note: I am growing my hair out. It is the longest it has been since I chopped it when I was 21. Wow! Has it been that long since I had LONG hair? I can clearly remember my hair running down my back almost to my waist. I wonder how long it will get before next August…

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

