Right Side Part

There are pivotal moments that everyone can remember. Some people can clearly remember the first time they rode a bike, others recall fond memories of their first of school or soccer goal etc. Yesterday I retold the story of a moment I remember very distinctly, an moment that still shapes me everyday: parting my hair on the side.

Yep, it was one day (I think a Thursday actually) towards the end of my sophomore year of high school. I was standing in front of the mirror in my parent’s bathroom before school and decided to ditch the standard middle part, and try parting my hair on the side. I was holding a comb trying to remember which side all my friends had their parts. I could picture it clearly, so I replicated it…in the mirror. I did not realize that it was actually on the opposite side that I was going for, but it stuck. I clearly remember about 6 different girls complimenting me on my new, so much cooler hair. Goodbye to the days of the center part! I never did perfect the zigzag part, and am still working on the messy part, but parted on the right has never wavered.

Now, years later, I still take the time to notice other women in meetings, on the bus etc, and see which side they part their hair on. From my counts, I am still in the minority. It was meant to be that way. And I will rock that part on my right side for the rest of my life.

One thought on “Right Side Part

  1. I love this story Lauren! I am a every day right side park, but that’s because I have a lovely cowlick 🙂 You go girl and I love short hair on you!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

