Saturday (almost) the way it’s meant to be!

The only thing missing was Matt by my side making me laugh. He had to work starting at one so this afternoon I was on my own. It was a great Saturday though…the perfect mix of relaxation and hard work.

We took advantage of our morning together and lazed in bed until 10 (oh such a treat!). Then we made breakfast. Saturday morning breakfast. I was in charge of toast and coffee. I sliced up one of Matt’s homemade loaves and spread it thick with butter and strawberry jam while the french press steeped the organic french roast from our trip to Pullman. The kitchen was so lovely and happy in the yellow glow of the morning light. Matt was in charge of a scramble that was amazing: eggs, sweet peppers, mushrooms, spinach, salami, and extra sharp Tillamook cheddar cheese. Since his portion of meal took longer than mine I also added a fresh fruit mix of strawberries, blueberries and peaches to our plates. Yummy! We ate in our little dining nook and talked about what to tackle in the yard and weekend plans for the summer.

At 12:30 I went outside to start mowing the grass while Matt got ready for work. It was so long after vacation! Geez I am learning how much work taking care of a full yard and garden is! After the front and back were mowed I finished weeding and planting my veggie patch, weeded some roses, weeded a front bed, then got out the loppers and started attacking bushes. I think my pile of clippings is bigger than the remaining bushes! We had some seriously overgrown rhodies out in front of our house that were in desperate need of cutting back. My little clippers were not really cutting it so our neighbor across the street offered me her big set. So much better! I am happy to report that they yard is, at least in part, finally starting to come together. Now I just need to tackle some more major weeding projects. Boy this is hard work!

Kitty update: both cats are still doing fine and getting along (at least as well as siblings can). They are also both wandering around outside when we are home now that they both have name tags on and know where they live. They both like lounging on the deck in the sun. Watching me work of course! Lazy spoiled babies 🙂

Tomorrow is going to be a work morning followed by dinner at Matt’s parents (my future parents-in-laws!). I think we are having ribs. Not my favorite but I am sure they will be good. It is nice that we live so near to both our parents and get to see them as often as we do. I feel pretty dang lucky for that!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

