Wind Turbines, Food & Friends

I am behind on updating, and I am going to use the excuse that I wanted to have photos with this post and they had not been downloaded from my camera yet. Ok, lame excuse that I could easily change but I am going to go with it. I will add some later today.

So last weekend was the yellow school bus trip to Pullman where I was chaperoning 11 high school students for the Imagine Tomorrow math and science competition. It was really cool to see the progress these kids have made. They are all from the class that I help out with for work in the Northshore School District, and I am so proud of all of them! We had a fun bus ride rocking out to oldies on the radio and then had the high class weekend experience of living in dorms and eating dorm food. (Note: dorm food at WSU is way better during the school year than in the summer). We hung out at the rec on Friday night, and then Saturday was presentations all day long. I got to duck out and visit with Jenny downtown at a coffee shop and that was such a treat! I miss her!

By the time awards came around at 8 Saturday night the kids were exhausted, some elated and others frustrated with the success of their projects. One team came out with two awards, the other we thought was close must have just missed it by a few points. It was cool to see some of our group recognized through!

Sunday we drove back to Seattle with a stop at the PSE Wild Horse Wind Farm just outside of Vantage, WA. It was so cool! I had never been to a wind farm before, and seeing them up close was pretty impressive. It was a beautiful day, and I took tons of photos.

Two hours later we were back in Seattle, exhausted and happy to be home. I jumped in my car and headed to Matt’s extended family dinner at Tutta Bella in Wallingford for pizza and wine and a room stuffed full of loud, fun Italian family. I really did not have the energy and would have preferred to go home and crash with Matt, but it was fun to see everyone.

Start to a really long busy week. Monday we went to dinner with Katherine/Adam/Mildred family who were visiting from Reno. It was so much fun to meet little baby Millie! She is adorable. Matt had never really held a baby and thought it was pretty cool.

Tuesday we had dinner at Grandpo’s…yummy clams and spaghetti. Wendesday we went to dinner at Benny and Lana’s and played Settlers. Last night I started painting the kitchen cabinets (walls are SO much more fun). Busy week, progress on the house, Matt is going to start looking for a new job, I am ready for a weekend at home. But life is good.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

