Epic Pullman Weekend

It is going to be hard to capture in words how wonderful our weekend in Pullman was. Summary: quite possibly the best weekend in Pullman ever.

Matt and I left Seattle around 10 on Friday morning. We drove over the pass with some really beat up windshield wipers (we then got them replaced in Pullman) and were then greeted by clear skies the rest of the way to WSU. Matt drove after Ellensburg…he is getting much better at stick! We listened to music and talked and got more and more excited to see our school as the miles rolled on.

When we arrived we went straight for ice cream at Ferdinand’s on campus. We shared a HUGE banana split (ice cream counts for lunch right?) and I ran into my old honors advisor, Jessica. It was so great to see her! She enjoyed meeting Matt too. From there we went to Moscow to check out TriState and Winco, stocking up on the random things like a hot pink disc golf disc, sunglasses, bulk beans and rye flour. Then we went to the new (gag) Super Walmart in Pullman for new wipers and then finally to Matt’s friend Ross’ house to drop off stuff. Matt stayed with Ross Friday night and I stayed with Jenny.

At 6:00 we met up with group of my friends at Sellas for calzones and pizza. It was excited that everyone I wanted to see in Pullman was able to show up! Kelsey and her husband Bryant were there, my old roommate Kathy, Jenny and Brian, Diane and Brent, Ross, me and Matt. Fun times. After dinner Matt and I parted ways and Jenny and I went downtown to find really good mojitos at Black Cypress. This is a great little place if you need a nice place to eat out in Pullman. We shared some edamame and had two rounds of mojitos that had really cool metal straws in them. I may need to track some of those down. Jenny and I stayed up talking till midnight. I had really missed seeing her.

The next morning I said goodbye to Jenny and headed back to College Hill to pick up Matt and go to the Breakfast Club for breakfast. Oh it was so good! We went to the Co-Op and a cool little consignment shop in Moscow. I found a really neat vintage dress. It needs a little TLC and some new buttons, but it is so cute! We went back to Pullman and then to Beasley to watch the UCLA game. It was a great game…sadly not in our favor though. Loosing in overtime is never fun. Matt and I had a great time cheering on our team though. After the game we wandered around Pullman and watched the sunset from the top of the library. WSU has such a beautiful campus. I loved going back.

Well, now that it was dark the night was just getting started! We met Kathy at The Coug for dinner (and finally wrote on the walls!!!) then went to her place to get ready for 80s night! Now, I have to tell you, 80s night was like THE highlight of my college experience. My senior year I was there practically every Saturday night and had so many friends that went. I was really excited to experience my favorite Pullman pastime with Matt. We got dressed up (not too 80s but did have a few key pieces like my awesome teal earrings), had a few drinks, and then walked across campus in the freezing cold to Valhalla. As soon as we walked it we knew something was wrong. There was no 80s music. There were no people dressed up. What was going on? We asked the bartender: they had phased out 80s night. NNNOOOOOOO!!!! It broke my heart to hear this. All of a sudden I was too old and out of date for Pullman. My favorite experience was one that no longer existed. That was hard to take.

However…being the industrious lady I am I went up to the DJ (same one from my college days) and asked him if he could play 80s night music just one more night…and he did. Two songs later the familiar classics came on and we got a group of people out on the dance floor. We danced like crazy all night long. Kathy and Matt and I never sat out a dance. I have never had someone as fun to dance with as Matt. We tore up that dance floor and had the best night ever. That boy is perfect for me.

When the lights finally came on at 2am we gathered up our coats and danced our way back to Kathy’s to crash on her living room floor. I’d be lying if I said I woke up feeling 100% on Sunday morning. When we finally got up around 11 I was started to feel better though, and Matt volunteered to drive home. I took a nap to finish recovering. It was a beautiful drive. We had a picnic in the sun at Vantage overlooking the Columbia River. Stunning.

What a weekend. Great people, yummy food, and seriously had the best night out at 80s night ever, and shared it with Matt which made it completely epic. I love Pullman.

One thought on “Epic Pullman Weekend

  1. I’m so glad you had an epic weekend in Pullman 🙂 And I am REALLY thrilled that I got to see you and meet Matt!! As I told you on Friday night, I think he’s wonderful…hold on to that one!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

