Surprise Birthday Adventure!

For my 24th birthday Matt took the weekend off from work and whisked me off on a surprise adventure. All he told me was to pack a bag and so I just packed and got excited. Friday night we went dancing in Bellevue dressed as a zombie and princess Lolly (candyland). We had so much fun. The lessons paid off, we have gotten so much better! We danced till almost 11 then went home to finish packing for our adventure on Saturday.

Saturday morning we went to breakfast at Springhill in West Seattle. It was good, but not our favorite. Then we packed the car and headed north. To where? Well, we went to Edmonds, got on a ferry, and then drove and drove. I had no idea where we were. 12 miles outside of our destination I saw a sign for Port Townsend…that was where he was taking me! One of my favorite places ever! He found a neat hotel about 10 miles out of town that was a sawmill turned alcohol distillery turned Inn…it was so cool and very artsy/eclectic. We checked in then wandered around Port Townsend. Dinner was pizza and a banana split, then we headed back to watch a movie and enjoy a picnic of wine, cheese and dried fruit that Matt the gourmet put together for me :).

Sunday morning we had yummy French toast at the hotel with “millionaire’s bacon” and scrambled eggs, and then went to Fort Worden to explore the old batteries, beach and lighthouse. It was a stunning day, blue sky and sunshine…perfect fall adventure weather. We ran around the fort for a few hours then headed to town for lunch before getting back on the road to come home. Matt really treated me like a princess for my birthday. He is wonderful.

One thought on “Surprise Birthday Adventure!

  1. Pingback: Wedding Planning: Venue « Turtle in Seattle

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

