“Feeling Good” Concert Weekend

After struggling to find concert buddies in time to buy tickets, I made up my mind that I would just buy two tickets to shows I wanted to see, and THEN take the time to find someone to go with. A few months ago I picked up tickets to Michael Buble and Muse…and they happened to fall on the same weekend in Seattle. So, concert-buddy-less and armed with tickets, I called my friend Kathy to see if she wanted to go. She said yes, and drove across the state for this epic weekend of sound. We had a ball! Friday night was Muse, one of my all time favorite bands. They put on an awesome show at Key Arena. Moving stages, lasers, great music, awesome piano songs and really hard rock all combined into one great night. I woke up for my saturday run with my ears still slightly ringing.

My run was two fold. The first 45 minutes my foot was in pain, I am having some tendon issues and it was really cold and it took forever to get my body loosened up. Then, we went around a corner and something clicked, and I felt great for the rest of the 140 minute run. Crystal and I jumped in the ocean after the run to ice our legs and feet (and ended up getting soaked to our chests due to the waves). It was freezing cold, but those 10 minutes really help your recovery. I went to breakfast at Portage Bay with my team, then headed back to clean house. Kathy was hanging out with a friend from school so I had some time to recover at home before show #2.

We took off for Michael Buble not really sure what to expect with our “floor” tickets. Most shows are standing if you are on the floor, but here we had seats…awesome ones. We were in the center, row 22…great view of the stage. We had a ball! The opener was a group called Naturally 7…a mindblowingly talented group of 7 guys doing accopella…but sounding like a band; drums, bass, keyboards and all. It was amazing. Look them up. Michael Buble was fantastic too. He really interacted well with the audience, got us up dancing and laughing, threw in a Michael Jackson song, and really put on a great show. Fun, fun night.

The two concerts could not have been more different, but at the same time had some things in common. Muse drew a young crowd, screaming and dancing to songs while singing at the top of their lungs. Michael Buble drew a more mature audience, mostly made up of middle age women and husbands brought along for the night (although Michael specifically said that this was not chick music), but they screamed and sang and danced as much as the Muse crowd. Both shows even preformed the same song: Feeling Good, the original (I think) by Nina Simone. It is so cool to see two completely opposite bands make the same, old song incredible.

Birds flyin’ high you know how I feel
Sun in the sky you know how I feel
Breeze driftin’ on by you know how I feel
Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life for me
yeah, its a new dawn its a new day its a new life for me ooooooooh
AND I’M FEELING GOOD

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

