Wipe Out at Hyak

[Cue Wallace and Grommit music] That was what was going through my head the whole day cross country skiing at Hyak (Snoqualmie) today. Swooshing up and down hills in the sunshine reminded me of that weird refrigerator alien in that Wallace teaches to ski on the moon. If you have never seen it you are missing out.

Anyway, this morning I woke up to a beautiful clear Washington morning, sunshine streaming in a little more than usual just because of daylight savings time. I threw on my warm clothes and headed for the mountains. Snoqualmie Pass has a nordic ski park at the Hyak exit, so I headed there for a day of solo skiing adventure. On my first downhill section I totally wiped out. It shook me enough to where I was seriously considering just doing some easy green loops and calling it a day. Hills and me on cross country skis were not a pretty pair. I made it successfully (enough) to the main intersection of trails and was looking at a map when I started chatting with two older women that had been on the ski shuttle with me. They invited me to join them, and so we ended up skiing together for the rest of the day. They gave me some great pointers and by the end I was able to make it down most of the hills in much more control. Yes, there were still some complete wipe out spills but I am much better than that first discouraging run of the day. We were out there for almost 4 hours, exploring all sorts of trails with beautiful views of the Cascades. We stopped for lunch and during our chatting time, one of the women, Lee, and I realized that we had actually met at a beach cleanup earlier this year! Small world! She works at the Re-Store in Bellingham and was just down for the weekend. Small, small world. She has done the cross country leg of Ski to Sea, and was giving me some insight in to that race as well. It was so much more fun skiing with these women than being out there alone all day. It always amazes me how welcoming people are.

I was exhausted by the end of the day. Tired feet and legs, but really glad I made the effort to get out and enjoy the day. I am making an attempt at a turkey meat loaf, it is baking right now but I think I added too many veggies because it was not staying together very well. Regardless, it should taste yummy! Baked potato, meatloaf, broccoli and movie with my kitty cat, great way to wrap up the weekend!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

