Rainy, Running Saturday (Longest Run Ever!!!)

Yesterday evening I had another massage up at Run 26 in Lynnwood…oh it was painful but felt so good! I had them specifically target the pectoral minor under my left collarbone, it has been really painful for a few months. Ooo it hurt to have it worked on (probably will bruise is my guess) but it should help. I arrived in Lynnwood with about 45 minutes to spare so I went to Nordstrom to check out shoes. I have been searching for a pair of good brown pumps, but they did not have any that I loved. I did find a pair of amazing yellow, scale print leather stiletto peeptoes that had to come home with me. I am not usually a walk-in-and-buy-it-at-full-price gal, but this was my Valentines present for myself. Tomorrow is the rest of the shopping trip to find some new work clothes.

After the massage I was wiped out. All the released toxins had given me a headache and totally stolen my energy. I came home to eat dinner, and barely made it though a movie without conking out. I slept like a rock.

Good thing too…this morning I had a 140 minute Team in Training team run at Cedar River Trail in Renton. I got up, grabbed some breakfast and headed out the door. I got lost going there, but I still made it in time to leave with the team. I ran with my friend Felicia and we had a good time chatting and working on our pace. We used the middle section of our run to pick it up a bit and push our pace, then backed down for the last segment. After not running for two weeks because of my cough, my endurance is nothing like what it used to be…not to mention this was my longest run yet. My body felt ok (little sore here and there, but generally good and pain free) but I just got tired on this run. 140 minutes is a long time. Felicia introduced me to Shot Blocks…they are so much better than Goo! I am going to have to get some next time I am out. After the run we went to breakfast at Portage Bay in South Lake Union. I had never been to this Seattle breakfast hotspot…and was VERY impressed. I got pancakes with eggs and bacon, and fully utilized the toppings bar for fresh fruit and whipped cream. A perk of running is this is a guilt-free breakfast!!! Next time I am temped to get the Banana’s Foster French Toast…

I finally came up with a great fundraising project for the marathon! My mom was going to come along on race weekend and take pictures for LLS/TNT for marketing photos, but why not make it into a fundraiser? I am going to sell compilation CDs of race and pre/after photos to my teammates. They will be way cheaper and way more fun than a $30 5×7 from the race. Finally, a fundraiser idea! I am making progress towards my $1500 minimum and $2000 goal…but still have a ways to go. My aunt had the coolest idea: she just celebrated her birthday but asked for donations to charity instead of gifts, and recommended my running for LLS as a suggestion. Thanks Aunt Betsy!

I am spending the rest of today chilling out with my cat. It is rainy and grey and my legs need some relax time. I cleaned my apartment and things feel back in place. It is kind of neat looking out the window today at the Sound. Big waves brought up tons of debris last night so there are logs and sticks and random things floating all over the grey water. The sky and water are the same color, and the islands and peninsula are just slightly darker. I guess that is what the world would look like if you did not have color vision.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

