Pineapple Classic & Moving

awesome people I work with

I need a weekend to recover from the weekend!

Saturday morning I woke up to a freezing cold (and luckily dry) day, threw on some running tights, a grass skirt, a coconut bra, one leis and headed to Mangnuson Park in Seattle for the Pineapple Classic. This 5k race benefits the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) and was a great way to spend Saturday morning. There were about 40 people from McKinstry that all ran together, in teams of 2 or 4. I was on a team with my friend Ben, and we looked ridiculous in out matching Hawaiian/under armor costumes. The race was great, 15 obstacles scattered across a 5k course. We went though tunnels, over bales of hay, jumped through tires, monkey bars, hurdles, and over walls…carrying a pineapple the whole way. When we crossed the finish line, slightly bruised, muddy and smiling, we cracked open the pineapple and headed to the beer garden. Great day for a great cause, and it was fun sharing it with so many fun people.

The rest of the day was spent cleaning, packing and moving all my stuff from my old apartment to my new apartment. Ben came and helped me move the big furniture and my dad hung new lights, changed out the outlets and switches, and built my bed frame. We took a quick break for dinner and then came back to meet the carpet delivery guy. It was quite the process of laying carpet in a room FULL of stuff…but we managed! That place feels SO much more comfortable with the icky linoleum floor covered up. We were exhausted and slept like rocks. Sunday was more moving, packing and running errands. We finished the last load around 10:30…and then the car died. Awesome. Mom and dad ended up spending the night again and got AAA to jump them in the morning. I am so tired, bruised and worn out, but so much happier in my new space. It is about ¾ unpacked and organized and starting to feel like home. I love my new place!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

