Labor Day Weekend

I decided to go home for Labor Day weekend instead of driving to Pullman for the football game. I brought my friend Ben from work to teach him how to go crabbing. We got to ferndale at about 8 on Friday night, changed and were at the beach for crab by 8:30. Yea it was already dark by that point. We had crab and corn and fresh garden beans while listening to the waves. Pretty good night on the beach. The next morning we woke up to rain and weather that generally did not inspire hiking but we decided to go anyway. We packed up our car and went to Heliotrope Ridge on Mt. Baker. It was a beautiful hike to see Coleman glacier… and we lucked out that the 100% chance of rain never decided to show up! The last mile or so was so high and windy and steep that Ben and I were the only two to make it to the end, and we did not even really make it to the end of the trail. We were exhausted and all took naps on the ride home. Spaghetti dinner and a good competitive game of Blockus rounded out the night. Sunday we picked fruit: blueberries, pears, apples, blackberries, Asian pears, it was great! We had crab at the beach for lunch in 30 mph winds… Far to rough for the canoe but we had a great roaring beach fire! Another fun adventure. We packed up just as the rain came in, perfect timing. We had dinner at the Chaplin’s and then Ben and I drove back to Seattle. Long two days… Bur so much fun!

Today I am at Bumbershoot, the three day music festival in Seattle. I am waiting for the Black Eyed Peas to come onstage right now but the show I came for is Modest Mouse at 9:30 and my friend Lana is joining me for that. It has been a packed but wonderful long weekend!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment

